BCM215 Beta – Old V NewScape

The analytical framework that I presented in week 2 has held up really well, and I haven’t had to make any modifications to it. This probably comes down to me already being very familiar with the game, so I knew how the aspects of my framework would play into the content and conversation surrounding it. The nostalgia and community aspects have been particularly useful for exploring conversations on Reddit, which obviously houses the vocal community for the game and also shares a great sentiment of nostalgia in some posts. I’ve still got a ways to go with completing the community aspect, but my analysis for the technique of both games has essentially been completed as I compile and notate the footage from my streams.

My framework from week 2

One of the main criticisms I received from my previous assignments was that I essentially had to decide if my analysis was structuralist or post-structuralist. As I look at what analysis I’ve actually conducted so far, it has presented itself with a major focus towards post-structuralist, so that’s what I’m going to lean into. The general feedback from my peers had been quite positive, with the only thing they generally suggested was to diversify the mediums I am using to stream and research. However, due to personal constraints and other university subjects, I have had to stick with just using Twitch and not building my persona further on social media. Furthermore, researching on other social media is kind of unnecessary, as essentially the only conversation around Runescape happens on Reddit, with even the mods and creators of the game using that as the official communication channel.

Feedback From Reddit



Schedule

Week 10 – Finish compiling stream video and research, begin the script

Week 11 – Complete next blog task and finalise the script

Week 12 – Record script and edit, submit

References

https://www.reddit.com/r/2007scape/

https://www.reddit.com/r/runescape/

Carr, D 2009, ‘Textual Analysis, Digital Games, Zombies’, Proceedings of the 2009 DiGRA International Conference: Breaking New Ground: Innovation in Games, Play, Practice and Theory, vol. 5, pp. 1-8

Kuo, W, Wang, S & Yang, J 2011, ‘A Study on Exploring Participant Behavior and Virtual Community in MMORPG’, Edutainment Technologies: Educational Games and Virtual Reality/Augmented Reality Applications, pp. 255-262

Jenkins, H 2006, Fans, Bloggers, and Gamers: Exploring Participatory Culture, NYU Press, New York, USA.

Menke, M 2017, ‘Seeking Comfort in Past Media: Modelling Media Nostalgia as a Way of Coping With Media Change’, International Journal of Communication, vol. 11, pp. 626-646

Niemeyer, K 2014, Media and Nostalgia: Yearning for the Past, Present and Future, Palgrave Macmillan, New York, USA.

4 thoughts on “BCM215 Beta – Old V NewScape

  1. Hi James! First of all your beta video goes into thorough detail, which really conveys that you are well educated and passionate about your topic, your methods, and the direction you are taking the project. I really admire how you described your experiences with the twitch traction but also stating that taking it across other platforms wasn’t necessary for you was a really good addition. I think you did a good job sticking to this and realising the audience for your game was on Reddit and twitch because there was no point in you putting your attention elsewhere – good job. I recommend linking some of your research on your analytical framework, maybe some quotes from articles to show more of your triangle in action. But really like how you said the Reddit community had the answers to all your questions, this backs up your concept of community.

    Awesome work James! You can tell the knowledge and passion you have for your project, it’s great to see! Good luck with your Final DA!

    Like

  2. Hey James, good to hear about success with your DA. In terms of getting twitch and natural views from what I know about twitch is that it is hard to obtain them naturally to begin with. If you want to create more of feedback loop and engagement I can suggest posting your twitch link into your social media or on reddit. Furthermore instead of you just analysing a part of the game because as you said these games have wides audiences and a lot of research comparing the two, you could ask or discuss aspects of the games you are struggling with. Then sharing your twitch link to reddit and asking a question could allow you to get more people to log on and watch you because they want to help you solve the problem. This just give you another aspect and helps encourage more conversation and create some solid feedback loops which will help with your final video essay. If you wanted to try a different way of streaming I found a YouTube tutorial about to live stream you game play on tik Tok!!
    All the best with your DA 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started